top of page
  • noricatalano

Project #1: Glitch

Updated: Sep 22, 2022

Artist Statement

Glitch is a genre that allows for exploration and leaves the viewer feeling various emotions. For this glitch project I created various images through the AI generator. Although all the images were made by the universe, I tried to keep a steady theme in my images. The overall theme of my pieces is nature and the deeper depths of it. I really like the aesthetic of nature especially the ocean. The ocean represents a strong natural force. Although all my images have nature, I choose to have a darker twinge in my images with deeper colors and a ghostly feeling. Through various motifs and symbols, I hoped to captivate the beauty of nature through a glitch aesthetic. I enjoyed the irony of nature against AI which is so generated by humans while nature is such a natural thing. The butterfly shows the metamorphosis while also symbolizing death with a ghostly background with the glitch emphasizing the spooky nature of the image. The ocean with the eye in the center was captivating to me when I was working with the image. The eye is the window to the soul, and it reminded me of a large ocean creature or as the ocean as a living being. The cat image also depicts the cat being underwater and when it was glitched the viewer can see a ghostly image of the cat. During my process I really enjoyed using audacity because it created very color focused glitches that really catch the viewer’s eye. Pixel sorting was also very successful when I glitched the ghost image. When the ghost is glitched it is as if the ghost is disappearing and reappearing before your eyes. I wish I had mixed some different images into my gifs to create some more variations. However, overall, I am pretty happy with the end product.












7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page