top of page
  • noricatalano

Project #4: Video Mapping Gallery

Artist Statement:

For this project, I had a very loose idea of what I wanted to show for our art show. I have always loved the Studio Ghibli films and they are such beautiful pieces of film, and I knew that I wanted to showcase them in some way or another. After thinking about what the films have in common or themes that come out of many of the films my idea began to take shape. Through the clips that I found I wanted to showcase the four elements, earth, wind, fire, and water. For earth, I chose Totoro and the scene of the two girls growing the plants in their backyards with Totoro. For wind I chose to show the scene from Spirited Away when Haku is a dragon and flying through the air. For the fire element, I chose the scene from Howls Moving Castle with Calcifer heating up their food. Lately, I chose Ponyo for the water. Miyazaki films are deeply connected to nature, and I thought this project would fit perfectly to show that. I used VDMX to overlay the element over the film clip to give a layered effect. Then I changed to opacity and screen recorded it and put it into Mad Mapper and projection mapped the different scenes into the frames that I had gotten. I only had three frames and there were four elements so while we were setting up the show I played around with some different options and found this very eye-catching filter in map mapper and used it for the Spirited Away clip for the background. I think it tied it all together very well and added a little distortion and gave more of a digital art feel to it. One thing that I wish I had had more time to figure out was the midi pad, but I am very happy with the results otherwise. Overall, the show was a success, and it was fun watch people come up to your art and enjoy it.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page